The Eastern Partnership (EaP) of European Union (EU) and Situation of Eastern Europe

Eastern Europe is the eastern part of the European continent having mostly Turko-Russian cultural and political influence as it has been either the part of modern turkey or Russian in past. Eastern Europe is composed of trans-continental countries, Black/Mediterranean Sea boundaries and caucuses region i.e. Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Georgia, Greece, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Turkey and Ukraine.

European Union (EU) which is a union of mostly western European countries, in 2008 started discussions to enhance relations with the eastern European countries and launched a project, The Eastern Partnership (EaP).

The EaP is a joint initiative of the European External Action Service of the European Union (EU) together with EU, its Member States, and six Eastern European Partners governing its relationship with the post-Soviet states of Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, and Ukraine.

The most interesting thing about EaP, is that it is enhancing relationships with eastern European countries excluding the two eastern European powers (Russia, Turkey) indicating the rising influencing interest of EU in Turko-Russian influence sphere and to isolate these countries in the region.

The Eastern Partnership is intended to provide an avenue for discussions of trade, economic strategy, travel agreements, and other issues between the EU and its selected Eastern European neighbours.

It also aims at building a common area of shared democracy, prosperity, stability, and increased cooperation which in fact could be called to reduce the Turko-Russian influence and to increase Western European influence.

As for December, 2020, The Eastern Partnership (EaP) has 6 partner countries: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova and Ukraine having two parallel tracks of relationship: bilateral and multilateral.

The bilateral dimension supports closer bilateral relations between EU and each Eastern partner country. The multilateral dimension provides a forum for dialogue and exchange. This is done via thematic platforms and flagship initiatives and strengthens activities in support of the EU bilateral relationship with each individual partner. Partnership with civil society and other stakeholders is also a key priority of the EaP.

Cooperation on research and innovation is addressed in a dedicated panel within the regional level multilateral policy platform ‘contacts between people’. This platform also covers education, youth, culture and ICT. Among the six EaP countries, Ukraine is the only country with a bilateral science and technology agreement with the EU.

So, The Eastern Partnership (EaP) of the European Union (EU) is not to enhance relationships with eastern European countries but to divide the eastern European countries into European influenced countries or Turko-Russian influenced countries which is a sign of further blocking and cold wars among the states.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *